Unofficial · documents read 11 October 2026
Studying medicine in China: what the regulators actually say
For students from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Nepal. Each answer quotes a document from China's Ministry of Education or from your own country's medical regulator.
This site covers one thing: an MBBS at a university in mainland China. It does not cover medical study in other countries, and it lists only universities on the Ministry of Education's published list.
- 44universities on the
Ministry's list - 39answered
questions - 7regulators and
ministries quoted
MBBS Q&A
42 answered questions
- What exam do I take at home after MBBS in China?India: the screening test (FMGE), pass mark 150 of 300. Pakistan: the National Registration Examination. Bangladesh: an examination set by the BMDC. Nepal: the Medical Council's licensing examination.
- Is NEET required to study MBBS in China?Yes, for Indian citizens and OCIs. India's National Medical Commission requires NEET for anyone going abroad for a primary medical qualification since May 2018, and the result is valid for three years.
- Which universities in China can teach MBBS in English?Only the universities on the Ministry of Education's list: 44 for the 2023–2024 academic year, with 3,048 places. A university not on the list may not enrol international students in English-taught medicine.
-
Which universities in China can teach MBBS in English to international students?All four countries
Only those on the Ministry of Education's list. The most recent edition, for the 2023–2024 academic year, entrusts 44 universities with 3,048 places in total. The full list is on this site, taken from the Ministry's annex.
教外厅函〔2023〕10号, paragraph 1Ministry of Education (China) — Notice on the 2023–2024 list of universities and enrolment plan for English-taught undergraduate clinical medicine for international students (教外厅函〔2023〕10号, Chinese) · Ministry of Education (China) — annex: list of universities and enrolment plan, 2023–2024 (Word file, Chinese)
-
What if a university is not on the Ministry of Education list?All four countries
The Ministry's notice says a university not on the list may not enrol international students in English-taught undergraduate clinical medicine, and may not issue an English degree certificate that carries the word MBBS. It may only enrol such students in Chinese-taught programmes.
教外厅函〔2023〕10号, paragraph 2Ministry of Education (China) — Notice on the 2023–2024 list of universities and enrolment plan for English-taught undergraduate clinical medicine for international students (教外厅函〔2023〕10号, Chinese)
-
Is a 'bilingual' medical programme the same as an English-taught one?All four countries
No. The Ministry's notice strictly forbids using a 'bilingual teaching' model as a disguised way of enrolling international students outside the list.
教外厅函〔2023〕10号, paragraph 2Ministry of Education (China) — Notice on the 2023–2024 list of universities and enrolment plan for English-taught undergraduate clinical medicine for international students (教外厅函〔2023〕10号, Chinese)
-
Is there a newer list than 2023–2024?All four countries
When this site last checked, on 11 October 2026, the Ministry of Education's index of policy documents on study abroad and study in China listed no later edition. Check the Ministry's index before you rely on any list, including this one.
MOE policy index, checked 11 October 2026Ministry of Education (China) — Notice on the 2023–2024 list of universities and enrolment plan for English-taught undergraduate clinical medicine for international students (教外厅函〔2023〕10号, Chinese)
-
How long has China had a list for English-taught medicine?All four countries
Since 2007. That year the Ministry of Education named 30 universities for the 2007/2008 year and said schools not on the list, or without an enrolment plan, may not enrol these students.
教外来〔2007〕39号, paragraph 2Ministry of Education (China) — notice issuing the 2007 Interim Provisions (教外来〔2007〕39号, Chinese)
-
Does India's NMC publish a list of approved medical universities in China?India
No. The National Medical Commission states that it does not endorse any list of foreign medical institutions or universities for MBBS or an equivalent course. What it sets are conditions the course and the graduate must meet.
NMC information deskNational Medical Commission (India) — Information desk: For Students to Study Abroad
-
Which Chinese medical universities does Pakistan's PM&DC accept?Pakistan
PM&DC's notices say only graduates of foreign institutions on the ECFMG lists may sit the National Registration Examination, and that graduates of institutions PM&DC does not recognise get no provisional registration. Check your university against those lists before enrolling.
PM&DC public notices, 31 July 2026 and 22 October 2025Pakistan Medical and Dental Council — Public notice of 31 July 2026 on eligibility of graduates of foreign institutions for the NRE (PDF) · Pakistan Medical and Dental Council — Public notice of 22 October 2025 regarding foreign graduates (PDF)
-
Is a Chinese MBBS recognised in Bangladesh?Bangladesh
Under the Bangladesh Medical and Dental Council Act 2010, a medical degree from an institution outside Bangladesh must be recognised by the Council before it can be used in Bangladesh. Ask the BMDC about your university before you enrol.
BMDC Act 2010, section 12(1)Laws of Bangladesh — Bangladesh Medical and Dental Council Act, 2010, section 12 (Bengali)
-
How many years is MBBS in China?All four countries
Six years, under the Ministry of Education's standard for English-taught undergraduate medical education for international students.
2007 Interim Provisions, Article 5Ministry of Education (China) — Interim Provisions on Quality Control Standards for Undergraduate Medical Education in English for International Students (annex to 教外来〔2007〕39号, Word file, Chinese)
-
How long is the internship, and where is it done?All four countries
One academic year, of at least 48 weeks. The standard says it is arranged in the university's teaching hospital, or in a teaching hospital recognised by a foreign health authority. After it, you must sit the graduation examination of the university where you studied.
2007 Interim Provisions, Article 13(3)Ministry of Education (China) — Interim Provisions on Quality Control Standards for Undergraduate Medical Education in English for International Students (annex to 教外来〔2007〕39号, Word file, Chinese)
-
What degree do I get?All four countries
A Bachelor of Medicine degree, if you meet China's degree regulations. The standard says the English copy of the certificate may read MBBS (Bachelor of Medicine & Bachelor of Surgery).
2007 Interim Provisions, Article 5Ministry of Education (China) — Interim Provisions on Quality Control Standards for Undergraduate Medical Education in English for International Students (annex to 教外来〔2007〕39号, Word file, Chinese)
-
Does a Chinese MBBS meet India's course-length rule?India
India's rule is a course of at least 54 months, plus a 12-month internship in the same foreign medical institution, taught in English. China's standard sets a six-year programme with a one-year internship. Whether your own course and internship meet the Indian rule depends on where and how you complete them.
FMGL Regulations 2021, regulation 4(a)National Medical Commission (India) — Foreign Medical Graduate Licentiate Regulations, 2021 (PDF) · Ministry of Education (China) — Interim Provisions on Quality Control Standards for Undergraduate Medical Education in English for International Students (annex to 教外来〔2007〕39号, Word file, Chinese)
-
Can I do my internship in India instead of China?India
India's regulations require a 12-month internship in the same foreign medical institution, and then a further supervised internship of at least 12 months in India. The NMC's 2025 advisory adds that clinical training must not be done in parts or across different countries.
FMGL Regulations 2021, regulation 4(a)(ii) and 4(c)National Medical Commission (India) — Foreign Medical Graduate Licentiate Regulations, 2021 (PDF) · National Medical Commission (India) — Advisory of 19 May 2025 on unauthorised medical colleges and off-shore programmes (PDF)
-
Does India accept medical study done online?India
The NMC's 2022 notice on admissions in China states that it does not recognise or approve medical courses done only by online mode.
NMC notice, 8 February 2022, paragraph 3National Medical Commission (India) — Notice of 8 February 2022, University admissions in China (PDF)
-
Who teaches on an English-taught medical programme?All four countries
The Chinese standard caps teaching by foreign teachers at 20 per cent of total hours, with each foreign teacher taking no more than one core course. The rest is taught by the university's own staff.
2007 Interim Provisions, Article 24Ministry of Education (China) — Interim Provisions on Quality Control Standards for Undergraduate Medical Education in English for International Students (annex to 教外来〔2007〕39号, Word file, Chinese)
-
How much does MBBS in China cost?All four countries
The official figure is the one each university publishes. National rules require every university to publish its fee items, fee standards and refund rules for international students, priced in RMB. This site does not quote a fee it has not read in a university's own notice.
MOE Order No. 42, Article 14Ministry of Education (China) — Administrative Measures for the Enrolment and Education of International Students by Schools (Order No. 42, Chinese)
-
Will I get money back if I leave the course?All four countries
That is set by the university's published refund rules for withdrawal and transfer, which national rules require it to publish with its fees. Read them before you pay.
MOE Order No. 42, Article 14Ministry of Education (China) — Administrative Measures for the Enrolment and Education of International Students by Schools (Order No. 42, Chinese)
-
Is insurance a separate cost?All four countries
Insurance is compulsory. Schools run an insurance system covering all international students, and a student who does not buy it as required is not admitted or not registered. The price is set by the scheme the university uses.
MOE Order No. 42, Article 40Ministry of Education (China) — Administrative Measures for the Enrolment and Education of International Students by Schools (Order No. 42, Chinese)
-
What does China require to enter an English-taught medical programme?All four countries
At least senior-secondary graduation, good grades, good health and strong English. Students whose mother tongue is not English must show that their schooling was in English throughout, or an English test result. Each university adds its own conditions.
2007 Interim Provisions, Article 20Ministry of Education (China) — Interim Provisions on Quality Control Standards for Undergraduate Medical Education in English for International Students (annex to 教外来〔2007〕39号, Word file, Chinese)
-
Do I need NEET to study MBBS in China?India
Yes, if you are an Indian citizen or OCI. The NMC states that anyone going abroad for a primary medical qualification on or after May 2018 must qualify the National Eligibility-cum-Entrance Test.
NMC information deskNational Medical Commission (India) — Information desk: For Students to Study Abroad
-
How long is my NEET result valid for going abroad?India
Three years from the date the result is declared. Within that time it entitles you to start an MBBS or equivalent course abroad, including any pre-medical or language course that comes first.
NMC information deskNational Medical Commission (India) — Information desk: For Students to Study Abroad
-
What does PM&DC require before a Pakistani student goes abroad?Pakistan
PM&DC's student alert, effective from session 2024–25, says a student must be registered with PM&DC to pursue education at a foreign institution.
PM&DC students alertPakistan Medical and Dental Council — Students alert for admission abroad (PDF)
-
Do I need MDCAT to study medicine in China?Pakistan
PM&DC's earlier alert required 50 per cent in MDCAT. A later public notice, No. Exam-59/2026, says PM&DC has decided to exempt MDCAT as a prerequisite for Pakistani students seeking admission to foreign medical and dental institutions. Read the notice on pmdc.pk for its date and conditions.
PM&DC public notice No. Exam-59/2026Pakistan Medical and Dental Council — Public notice on exemption of MDCAT for admission to foreign institutions (No. Exam-59/2026, PDF) · Pakistan Medical and Dental Council — Students alert for admission abroad (PDF)
-
What does Nepal require before I go to China for MBBS?Nepal
An eligibility certificate from the Medical Education Commission, and a pass in the bachelor-level medical entrance examination. The Commission runs an online portal for the certificate.
MEC Accreditation Standards for MBBS 2024, section 6.1; National Medical Education Act 2018, section 16(2)Medical Education Commission (Nepal) — Accreditation Standards for MBBS 2024 (PDF) · Medical Education Commission (Nepal) — National Medical Education Act, 2018, English translation (PDF) · Medical Education Commission (Nepal) — Eligibility Certificate online portal
-
What does Bangladesh require before I go abroad for MBBS?Bangladesh
This site has not been able to read the BMDC's own page on steps before departure, so it does not state them. What the law fixes is the position afterwards: a foreign degree must be recognised by the Council, and you then sit a Council examination. Ask the BMDC directly before you enrol.
BMDC Act 2010, section 12Laws of Bangladesh — Bangladesh Medical and Dental Council Act, 2010, section 12 (Bengali)
-
What exam do I take in India after MBBS in China?India
A screening test. Indian citizens and OCIs with a foreign primary medical qualification must qualify it to get provisional or permanent registration. It is the Foreign Medical Graduate Examination (FMGE), conducted by the National Board of Examinations in Medical Sciences.
NMC information desk; FMGE bulletinNational Medical Commission (India) — Information desk: For Students to Study Abroad · National Board of Examinations in Medical Sciences (India) — FMGE Information Bulletin, October 2026 session (PDF)
-
What is the FMGE pass mark?India
150 marks out of 300. The result is declared as pass or fail.
FMGE Information Bulletin, October 2026National Board of Examinations in Medical Sciences (India) — FMGE Information Bulletin, October 2026 session (PDF)
-
Will NExT replace FMGE?India
The National Exit Test Regulations 2023 apply NExT to foreign medical graduates who meet the licentiate regulations. On 13 July 2023 the NMC announced that NExT was deferred until further directions from the Health Ministry. Until the NMC announces otherwise, follow its current notices for which test applies.
NExT Regulations 2023; NMC public notice, 13 July 2023National Medical Commission (India) — National Exit Test Regulations, 2023 (PDF) · National Medical Commission (India) — Public notice of 13 July 2023 deferring the National Exit Test (PDF)
-
Must I be eligible for a licence in China to register in India?India
India's regulations require the graduate to be registered with, or otherwise competent to be licensed by, the regulatory body of the country where the degree is awarded, on a par with the licence given to that country's citizens.
FMGL Regulations 2021, regulation 4(b)National Medical Commission (India) — Foreign Medical Graduate Licentiate Regulations, 2021 (PDF)
-
What happens if I went abroad without qualifying NEET?India
A 2020 public notice on the NEET requirement states that not qualifying NEET makes a student ineligible to appear in the screening test, and so not entitled to provisional or permanent registration.
Public notice No. MCI-7(10)/10/2020-Legal, 4 September 2020Board of Governors / Medical Council of India — Public notice of 4 September 2020 on qualifying NEET to pursue MBBS abroad (PDF, on nmc.org.in) · National Medical Commission (India) — Information desk: For Students to Study Abroad
-
What exam do I take in Pakistan after MBBS in China?Pakistan
The National Registration Examination (NRE). PM&DC states that passing both its theory and clinical skills components is mandatory for a full licence to practise. Graduates of recognised foreign institutions may be given provisional registration first.
NRE Standard 2024; PM&DC press release, 14 September 2025Pakistan Medical and Dental Council — National Registration Examination (Medical): Standard, Structure and Syllabus 2024 (PDF) · Pakistan Medical and Dental Council — Press release of 14 September 2025: registration examination mandatory for all foreign medical graduates (PDF)
-
How often is the NRE held?Pakistan
At least twice a year, according to PM&DC's examination standard.
NRE Standard, Structure and Syllabus 2024Pakistan Medical and Dental Council — National Registration Examination (Medical): Standard, Structure and Syllabus 2024 (PDF)
-
What exam do I take in Bangladesh after MBBS in China?Bangladesh
If the degree is recognised by the medical council of the country where it was earned, the Act says the applicant sits an examination set by the Bangladesh Medical and Dental Council. Those who pass are provisionally registered for an internship of a length the Council sets.
BMDC Act 2010, section 12(3)Laws of Bangladesh — Bangladesh Medical and Dental Council Act, 2010, section 12 (Bengali)
-
Can I practise in Bangladesh without BMDC registration?Bangladesh
No. The Act says no one may practise allopathic medicine, or present themselves as a medical practitioner, without registration under it.
BMDC Act 2010, section 22(1)Laws of Bangladesh — Bangladesh Medical and Dental Council Act, 2010, section 22 (Bengali)
-
What exam do I take in Nepal after MBBS in China?Nepal
A licensing examination held by the Nepal Medical Council before registration. This site has not been able to read the Council's rules for foreign graduates in full, so it does not describe the format: check with the Council.
Nepal Medical Council home page; MEC Accreditation Standards for MBBS 2024Nepal Medical Council — home page · Medical Education Commission (Nepal) — Accreditation Standards for MBBS 2024 (PDF)
-
Is MBBS in China really taught in English?All four countries
At the universities on the Ministry of Education's list, the programme is English-taught by definition. India's regulations separately require that the degree be received with English as the medium of instruction.
教外厅函〔2023〕10号; FMGL Regulations 2021, regulation 4(a)(iii)Ministry of Education (China) — Notice on the 2023–2024 list of universities and enrolment plan for English-taught undergraduate clinical medicine for international students (教外厅函〔2023〕10号, Chinese) · National Medical Commission (India) — Foreign Medical Graduate Licentiate Regulations, 2021 (PDF)
-
Do I have to learn Chinese?All four countries
Yes. The standard makes Chinese a compulsory course that runs through the whole programme, so that students can manage daily life and, later, contact with patients.
2007 Interim Provisions, Article 14Ministry of Education (China) — Interim Provisions on Quality Control Standards for Undergraduate Medical Education in English for International Students (annex to 教外来〔2007〕39号, Word file, Chinese)
-
Is there an HSK level I must reach?All four countries
The 2007 medical standard names no level. The Ministry's 2018 quality norms say undergraduates on foreign-language-taught programmes should reach at least Level 4 of the International Chinese Proficiency Standards by graduation. The text does not use the word HSK; your university's rules say which test it uses.
2018 Quality Norms (Trial)Ministry of Education (China) — Quality Norms for Higher Education of International Students (Trial) (annex to 教外〔2018〕50号, Word file, Chinese) · Ministry of Education (China) — Interim Provisions on Quality Control Standards for Undergraduate Medical Education in English for International Students (annex to 教外来〔2007〕39号, Word file, Chinese)
-
Do I need IELTS for MBBS in China?All four countries
The Chinese standard asks students whose mother tongue is not English for proof that their primary and secondary schooling was in English throughout, or an English test result. It names no test and no score, so the university's brochure decides.
2007 Interim Provisions, Article 20Ministry of Education (China) — Interim Provisions on Quality Control Standards for Undergraduate Medical Education in English for International Students (annex to 教外来〔2007〕39号, Word file, Chinese)
Nothing on the sheet matches. Try one plain word, such as "internship" or "licence", or switch the country. The sheet only holds questions this site has already answered.
By home country
What your own regulator asks of you before you leave, about the course, and when you come back.
India
- Before you go
- Qualify NEET. The result is valid for three years for starting a course abroad.
- About the course
- At least 54 months, a 12-month internship in the same institution, taught in English.
- When you return
- The screening test (FMGE), then a supervised 12-month internship in India.
Information desk: For Students to Study Abroad · Foreign Medical Graduate Licentiate Regulations, 2021
Pakistan
- Before you go
- Register with PM&DC. Its 2026 notice exempts MDCAT as a prerequisite for study abroad.
- About the course
- The institution must be on the ECFMG lists and recognised by PM&DC.
- When you return
- The National Registration Examination: theory and clinical skills.
Students alert for admission abroad · Public notice of 31 July 2026 on eligibility of graduates of foreign institutions for the NRE · National Registration Examination (Medical): Standard, Structure and Syllabus 2024
Bangladesh
- Before you go
- Not stated in the documents this site could read. Ask the BMDC before you enrol.
- About the course
- The degree must be recognised by the Council before it can be used in Bangladesh.
- When you return
- An examination set by the Council, then provisional registration for internship.
Bangladesh Medical and Dental Council Act, 2010, section 12 (Bengali)
Nepal
- Before you go
- An eligibility certificate from the Medical Education Commission, and a pass in the medical entrance examination.
- About the course
- Follow the Commission's eligibility conditions for study abroad.
- When you return
- The Nepal Medical Council's licensing examination before registration.
Sections
Six subjects, in the order most students meet them.
- 01 8 answers
Recognised universities
Which universities China's Ministry of Education lists for English-taught undergraduate clinical medicine, and how to check a university against the list yourself.
- 02 7 answers
Course & internship
How long the degree runs, where the internship year is done, and what your home regulator says about course length and internship.
- 03 3 answers
Fees
Where tuition and other charges are officially published, and how to read a university's fee notice. This site does not quote fees it has not read in a university's own notice.
- 04 7 answers
NEET & eligibility
What your home country requires before you leave: NEET for Indian students, and the eligibility or no-objection steps other regulators set.
- 05 10 answers
Licensing exams back home
The examination and registration steps for foreign medical graduates in India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Nepal, in each regulator's own words.
- 06 4 answers
Language & HSK
The teaching language, the Chinese you are expected to learn for clinical work, and what the rules say about a Chinese test.
The Ministry of Education's list
44 universities are entrusted to enrol international students in English-taught undergraduate clinical medicine for the 2023–2024 academic year, with 3,048 places in total. A university not on the list may not enrol such students.
| No. | University | As printed | Plan |
|---|---|---|---|
| 01 | Jilin University | 吉林大学 | 80 |
| 02 | China Medical University | 中国医科大学 | 100 |
| 03 | Dalian Medical University | 大连医科大学 | 100 |
| 04 | Capital Medical University | 首都医科大学 | 100 |
| 05 | Tianjin Medical University | 天津医科大学 | 100 |
| 06 | Shandong University | 山东大学 | 78 |
| 07 | Fudan University | 复旦大学 | 40 |
| 08 | Xinjiang Medical University | 新疆医科大学 | 100 |
Longer answers
Questions that need a table or several steps have their own page.
- What exam do I take at home after MBBS in China?India: the screening test (FMGE), pass mark 150 of 300. Pakistan: the National Registration Examination. Bangladesh: an examination set by the BMDC. Nepal: the Medical Council's licensing examination.
- Is NEET required to study MBBS in China?Yes, for Indian citizens and OCIs. India's National Medical Commission requires NEET for anyone going abroad for a primary medical qualification since May 2018, and the result is valid for three years.
- Which universities in China can teach MBBS in English?Only the universities on the Ministry of Education's list: 44 for the 2023–2024 academic year, with 3,048 places. A university not on the list may not enrol international students in English-taught medicine.
Whose documents these are
26 documents from 7 bodies. Every answer links to the one it rests on.
- Ministry of Education, China6 documents · read 11 October 2026
- National Medical Commission, India7 documents · read 11 October 2026
- NBEMS, India1 documents · read 11 October 2026
- Pakistan Medical and Dental Council6 documents · read 11 October 2026
- Government of Bangladesh, Ministry of Law2 documents · read 11 October 2026
- Medical Education Commission, Nepal3 documents · read 11 October 2026
- Nepal Medical Council1 documents · read 11 October 2026